Personal Strategic Planning Kills Procrastination

Umair Asghar
7 min readAug 14, 2023

--

Personal Strategic Planning Vision to Victory

personal strategic planning
Personal Strategic Planning

Today I will break down how I overcame my procrastination habit with a simple 60-minute forehead process.

When you leave your home for any destination like you are going to work. You have already a clear mindset most of the time. You are heading to your job workplace. No matter what, how will you get there? You reach early or late, although you reach your goal.

Similarly, we all have goals in our lives. Some goals are huge and they need serious time and effort.

In order to attain significant accomplishments in life, it is crucial to possess the appropriate outlook and deliberate preparation.

As I said, traveling around the globe is a mammoth goal in front of home to office commute. So, you need proper planning on how will you get funds and what source of travel will work in your situation.

5–10–45 Strategy

In this strategy, you will reconcile your mindset every morning at the start of the day.

When should we write down our goals to avoid procrastination and achieve bigger goals? Any free hour of the day works too.

Most often, we are distracted from our daily routine due to our modern ecosystem of gadgets and devices. So, revision of mindset is essential for every hour, otherwise, distractions have the potential to take you out of your bigger picture and through somewhere in the trash of information for no reason.

5 Minutes Vision Magic

Words have magic powers. It makes you or breaks you. Research and gurus advise starting your day with good words.

In all religions, we have preset templates and verses for every event of life and teach us What to say and how to say it. You can select carefully your mindset's magical words.

We can evaluate the mindset Statements by using the following technique.

G:O>O:D Morning Mindset Technique

There are four ingredients to make a correct mindset.

  1. Gratitude
  2. Openness
  3. Opportunity
  4. Determination

Gratitude

Be thankful for what you have. Nature listens to you and she loves thankful souls. You can be thankful for your health, education, family, business, beauty, kids, home, car, etc.

Openness

Gratitude repairs and extends your inner space. It does not mean it makes you greedy.

It designs mind maps for your life's bigger picture. It makes stair steps towards your wanted space. Some people call it the Law of attraction.

In this process, you make yourself open to accepting new challenges in the reward of those challenges to reach your goal. Challenges make our inner vessels broader.

Opportunity

When your inner vessels feel wider and you need something that can help you gain your goal. It helps you find new opportunities.

Similarly, if you need a job you will search for new opportunities.

Make your vision clear with a clear mission. You’ll have a clear want statement. That will attract your attention to the right opportunities. Otherwise, you will be lost in the complex maze of thoughts and research.

Determination

There is will there is a way. After the clarity of thoughts, stick to your goal.

Usually, when we embark on long journeys, I tend to overlook certain preparatory measures such as checking for a flat tire, refueling my car, or encountering unexpected setbacks on the road. Regardless, our strong resolve and clear perspective enable us to overcome any obstacles that come our way. The sharper your vision, the greater your determination.

I have reached my destination because I had a clear goal in mind.

10 Minutes: Strategic Planning

In this step, you make a strategy to achieve your goal on the basis of the vision you created in the previous process. Large companies make their vision, although you can do personal strategic planning too.

Personal Strategic Planning

Vision has the power to move the universe. Without vision everything is vane. Vision is the force that helps gigantic companies to move ahead.

Vision is like the chassis of the truck, that will carry your burden of thought. It converts the mind picture to reality.

Why is it important to check your strategy each day? Because it will help you stay on your path. It will help you to guide your rocket to your right destination in deeper space.

There is 5 step-by-step process to create a personal strategy

  1. First of all, as I already mentioned you must be clear in your mission. You must know your Purpose Statement. It is the WHY of your journey. Like, Why do I want to do business?
  2. Secondly, Personal vision statement. Create your vision statement like I want to build a unicorn in 15 years.
  3. Write down your top 5 personal core values you want to see in your goal. like Health, good relationships, etc.
  4. Now you can carefully select the Strategic focus areas. Similarly, companies select departments to focus on. Like, the engineering department, research department, etc.
  5. Write down your Objectives and SMART goals for each focus area or department.

You can download the Canva Template for your Personal Strategic Planning. I am using this template and found this template very helpful. Click Here

Personal Strategic Planning Template

45 Minutes: Focused State of Deep Work

After the clarity of objectives and goals. Now you can focus on your goals. I would like to recommend setting a time span limit for each goal.

It is not necessary to progress on each goal each day. But you must know how much time you must spend each week or month.

It depends on what are your objective parameters. These Parameters will tell you what is the winning criteria for that objective.

The best way to create objectives and goals is to you must create measurable parameters.

These parameters will help you to evaluate your success or failure in that object. You can say that you want to be a bodybuilder. It looks like an open-ended objective. You must be clear on that. you can change it in this way “I want to be a lean bodybuilder”. Similarly, your goal must be clear and task-centric. Likewise, I will spend 30 minutes daily in the gym.

Personal Strategic Planning is Powering My Path to a Million-Dollar Business

I have been struggling to focus on my business goal for 5–7 years. But due to unclear mind and other priorities in life. I have failed to achieve a few percent of success in those goals. As we all know, it is very hard to manage scattered information and summarize it for our ultimate goals. We are living in the Information age. We know how to do it, but we fail to execute it in an appropriate way.

After the clear objectives and plan, now I am feeling bull eye focus. I am hopeful I can make $10 Million in the next 5–10 years if I continue working on the same goals.

I would like to mention again, from where am I expecting such materialized output?

  1. I am a top-rated freelance, so I am planning to convert into a mega agency.
  2. I am planning to write daily for Medium.com and Subtack.com. It will help me to collect emails for further business connections. Moreover, I am writing a book.
  3. I am running a company named www.visitgis.com. By profession, I have spent 13 years in the field of GIS Mapping and Product Development. I am providing consultancy to Clients related to advanced GIS mapping with AI technologies.
  4. I am creating Ad-centric and Affiliate-earning websites or apps for flipping.
  5. I am also creating a Udemy.com course for helping other people.

The people who are in the business world, can help me to correct my direction. I am always open to discussing. It will be worthwhile for me if you advise anything related to personal Strategic Planning.

I feel that I have a clear mind, I know my ship's direction now. I am feeling confident like a captain of my life ship.

I pray you may achieve your goals without delay.

Repeat this 1 hour routine as per the time available.

--

--

Umair Asghar

200K views | AI | Data Engineer |Creators Economy | Digital Marketer | GIS | Products Manager